My Blessing and My Curse

I have recently discovered a couple of beauty items that I just love. One is for my nails and the other is for my hair.

I have the good fortune, or good genes, to be blessed with strong, healthy fingernails and hair. My hair grows quickly and I have always had a lot of it. Even now,  when I am at an age that most women begin to experience some hair loss,  my hair has become, as my hair stylist says,  “normal.”   However,  even though the hair gods have been kind to me in some ways,  they have not smiled upon me when it comes to hair color.  You see, I am losing that too, that is –my color.  I started greying in my early 20′s and have been fighting it ever since.  (My 12 year-old son also has good hair genes and has a healthy head of hair, but I recently spied two grey hairs on his head!)  If you combine the premature greying of my hair and its fast growth rate, you can see I have a real problem trying to stay ahead of my greying shimmering roots. I have had to spend more and more time and money to achieve my “natural” look.  I have toyed with the idea of letting my hair go au natural, but I still feel too young and I am far too vain to allow myself to do that.  For now, I put up with frequent trips to the salon for my color, or enlist my husband’s help for the home color touch-ups. But I recently found a new weapon in my fight against silver roots.  It allows me to extend time between salon trips, and keep me from donning the plastic gloves and staining my bathroom and towels,  with hair color from home do-it-myself jobs.  This secret weapon looks a lot like a  crayon, but I consider it more to be a magic marker:

The other asset that good genes have bestowed on me are strong fingernails. They grow quickly and are quite strong.  I used to get a professional manicure, but, lately I have given up paying for them.  I think professional manicure is a waste of money on me, because I don’t have the time to wait for the polish to dry completely.  I ruin the manicure before I am out the salon door.  Inevitably, I will sit through the cuticle clipping, filing, shaping, buffing, painting, but the moment I get up from the salon chair, I smudge the polish reaching for car keys, credit card or the door handle!  Besides with all the housework, and keyboarding I do,  the manicure starts to chip away after one day.  Because I am cheap frugal, I save my money and don’t pay for a professional manicure unless it’s a special occasion, like the trip to NY I took three weeks ago. The morning I was leaving for my trip I went to get a manicure. As usual the manicurist tried to sell me extras:

  “Hot oil cuticle treatment?” No.

“Neck and shoulder massage?” No.

“Callous Remover?” Hmm?  No.

“Gel Polish?” What?

The manicurist pitched me the gel manicure. She told me it would last much longer than a regular manicure. It would cost slightly more, $13, and take a bit longer,  since they had to put my nails under a UV light between polish coats. I thought I was running short on time so I said no. Then, as it is my prerogative, I changed my mind and went for the big splurge. I am glad I did. That was three weeks ago, and here are my nails today:

My nails have grown out,  so it’s time for me to remove the gel polish, but the polish has not chipped.  Three weeks later and  it is going strong. I loved it!  I don’t know when I will get another manicure, since I don’t really have  a special event coming up, however,  when I do get my next manicure, I am going to pay the extra money and spend the extra time for a gel manicure.

Now if only they could come up with something that makes the color in my hair last as long the gel polish on my nails!

14 responses to “My Blessing and My Curse

  1. I have to laugh at this post. You sound just like me when on both accounts. I definitely have to find that color touch up you talked about. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: $25 for a Deluxe Shellac Manicure and Paraffin Wax at My Dream Nail in Scarborough » Get your daily Groupon deals

  3. Pingback: $29 for Basic Organic Manicure and Spa Organic Pedicure at Organic Spa Intelligent Beauty in Darien ($60 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  4. Pingback: Deal Grater » Sea Spa Pedicure and Spa Manicure

  5. Pingback: Shellac Manicure | 4 Real Cheap

  6. Pingback: Deal Grater » Shellac or Gelish Manicure and Pedicure

  7. Pingback: Deal Grater » Massage. Hair Treatment, Wash, Blow Dry and Mani

  8. Pingback: Deal Grater » Up to 55% off No-Chip Manis, Brazilian Waxes & Haircuts

  9. Pingback: Salon Services at Moezart and Company in St. Clair Shores. Three Options Available. » Get your daily Groupon deals

  10. Pingback: $25 for Manicure and Pedicure at Cashmere Salon in Centennial ($70 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  11. Pingback: Eco-Friendly Nail or Skin Services at Posh! Nail Studio. Three Options Available. » Get your daily Groupon deals

  12. Pingback: Behind the Polish: Gel Nails Explained « TweenLik Live

  13. Pingback: Manicure or Glaze and Blowout at What I Want? Salon in Williamsburg » Get your daily Groupon deals

  14. Pingback: Deal Grater » Mani/Pedi ($20) or Haircut ($25) and $10 to Spend

Leave a Reply

