50/50 Friday – Week 3

Week Three of my 50 Things to Do Before 50 list and I made little progress, although I did manage to stay on track by trying out a new recipe.  This week was Father’s Day,  so in keeping with our hollandaise tradition I decided to make Eggs Benedict for Juan.  I mentioned before that this dish requires precision timing and coordination, and with me cooking solo, I needed to find a simple hollandaise sauce recipe. I looked online and found this one. I was not disappointed. The sauce was easy to make and it came out great. I added more lemon because I like my hollandaise tangy like that. I also halved the recipe so I would not have too much and it was a perfect amount for four eggs. Juan loved it. He especially liked the fact that I served it to him on a tray, in bed.

Diego was up early and crawled in bed with Juan so I brought Diego his own tray too.

Even though it's not his day, Diego gets breakfast in bed.

The thing about Eggs Benedict is that no matter how hard I try to clean my kitchen as I go, when I am done cooking, my kitchen ends up looking like this.

Number 36 on my list, “Get another dog,” has also gotten some attention this week. As I write this Juan is looking online at photos of adoptable dogs at the local animal shelters. I am not sure I am ready for another dog yet, but I may have little say in the matter. Juan seems to think a trip to an animal shelter in on our list of things to do this weekend. Check in next Friday for an update on my 50/50 list, and to see if we have a new addition to the family.

4 responses to “50/50 Friday – Week 3

  1. Looks delicioso! Good luck with the search for your new fur-child.

  2. Oh man, I loves me some Eggs Benedict. Juan is a lucky man! I did bagels for Fathers’ Day breakfast. Failed on dinner- store was out of steak by the time I got there. He ended up doing burgers on the grill himself. But the reason I was late to the store was making a cake, buttercream frosting, and ice cream all from scratch. I would’ve made crappy steak anyway.

    • Ha ha! Yes a man loves his steak. Well, come to think of it, so do I. But then again, what’s a Father’s Day without a barbeque? So, I’d say you did right. And I am sure a cake with buttercream frosting from scratch beats any store bought version!

  3. I’m so happy you guys are ready to take the plunge into puppy parenthood. Danielle works at the PHS so she can give you the skinny on ALL the dogs.

Leave a Reply

