No More Teachers, No More Books….

D finished kindergarten this week.  It’s felt a lot like crawling to the finish line. O finished her first year in high school at the end of May. N and E both finished off their first year in middle school in mid-June. D was the last to start school and the last to finish.  We made it through the year managing four kids’ schedules, three schools, and a host of extra-curricular activities.  It has been a challenging academic year and I can’t believe it’s over.  Here they are at the beginning of the year, and the beginning of a new stage in their academic careers.


Fall was heavy with anticipation, as they were all starting new stages in schooling.  There was a lot of apprehension and excitement. J and I had a lot more logistics to manage since O’s school was no longer local and involved our participation in carpool. N, a creature of habit and consistency, was anxious in the beginning, since middle school involved changing classrooms, and lugging books from his homeroom to a different class each period. He managed, and excelled. E, easily distracted caused me concern. How many times would she forget to bring the right books to class, how many times would she forget her homework? She did just fine. D started off his kinder year with fits of tears and clinginess that lasted from the hot early days of September until the cool days of late October. I wanted to cry every day with him. I tried to make it easier by adjusting my work schedule to allow me to pick him up early, work out a carpool with another mom. Nothing really worked, until he worked it out. Finally, finally, the tears stopped and he began to let go of me. By spring break, when the teachers announced it was time for the parents to let the kids walk into class themselves, he was ready.


Here he is today, his last day of kindergarten, running into school…not even needing me to walk him to the door.

 

IMG_1710.MOV (783 KB)
I am sad. I am proud. I am happy. I am a mother of a high school sophomore, two 7th graders, and a 1st grader. I am tired. Let the summer begin!
Leave a Reply

